“Revolution” by Jennifer Donnelly

I am not sure where I heard about this book but it was probably from twopeas which is where I usually get my recommendations.  It is a YA novel written about a young teenager Andi Alpers who has gone through a horrific tragedy and is spiraling out of control.  To try to help, her absent father takes her to Paris for winter break.  She finds a diary that is written by a young girl during the French Revolution.  It goes back and forth from present time to the french revolution.  Here is the description from goodreads.com:

BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.

PARIS: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fateful encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want—and couldn’t escape.

Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages—until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present.

Jennifer Donnelly, author of the award-winning novel A Northern Light, artfully weaves two girls’ stories into one unforgettable account of life, loss, and enduring love. Revolution spans centuries and vividly depicts the eternal struggles of the human heart.

I couldn’t put this book down.  I didn’t know much about the French Revolution but it made me want to know more.  It really sucked me into the story and made me feel for the characters.  This was the first book of Jennifer Donnelly’s that I read but it made me want to read more which I did and I still have 2 more of hers to read.  I can’t wait!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

